San Mateo County Community College District Academic Senate

Minutes 11-8-2010 2pm District Office, Room 222

Governing Council Officers

Ray Hernandez President

Patty Dilko Past President

Martin Partlan

Cañada College AS President Diana Bennett

District Academic Senate VP College San Mateo AS President

Fermin Irigoyen Skyline College AS President 2010-2011

Christine Roumbanis District Curriculum Committee

David Clay Cañada College AS Vice President

Huy Tran College San Mateo AS Vice President

Leigh Anne Sippel Skyline College AS Vice President

1. Call To Order

Diana Bennett, Patty Dilko, Ray Hernandez, Fermin Irigoyen, Martin Partlan, Huy Tran, Christine Roumbanis Guests: Tania Beliz, Terry Kistler, Monica Malamud, Michael Bucher, Jing Luan, Peter Bruni, Lisa Palmer, Ahmad Lahani

2. Adoption of the Agenda: Approved Bennett motion to approve and seconded by Irigoyen

3. Approval of Minutes: 10-11-2010: Bennett motion to approve and seconded by Irigoyen

5. Public Comment: Terry Kistler thanked DAS for the work they do.

6. Presentations/Information

6.1 Distance Education Update: Jing Luan and Tania Beliz are co-chairs of DEAC. The committee has been working on DE strategic plans, best practices and online guidelines. Distance Education Gateway presentation by Jing Luan, Peter Bruni and Ahmad Ladhani. 3 + 3 + 3 clicks model and emphasis on student and faculty areas. DE Gateway will be live Spring 2011. Jing will craft an email to go out to all employees. Ray commented on how impressed he was with faculty involvement.

6.2 Completion by Design (Bill-Melinda Gates Foundation): Grant required specific areas, which SMCCCD didn't meet. Los Rios Consortium but SMCCCD were not invited to participate.

7. Continuing Business

7.1 District Rules and Regs: Board Policy 2.80: Recognition: Approved: Canada, CSM, Skyline

7.2 Trust Committee Statement: DAS/AFT committee received feedback. Ray and Nina will edit statement for review at December DAS meeting and DAS/AFT joint meeting.

7.3 Min Quals / FSA Policy: Comments and edits were received by all colleges. Diana will re-vise draft for review at December DAS meeting

7.4 SB 1440: Approximately 14 disciplines identified. 5 disciplines (Math, Communication Studies, Sociology, Psychology, Geography) will be completed by FALL 2011. Points of discussion: Possibility of district wide forums and/or locally. DAS will oversee and monitor progress and implementation. Local leads: Curriculum chairs and Articulation officers.

7.5 *Measure G Parcel Tax:* Discussion of Ray presenting a statement to the board to emphasize transparency. Points of Discussion: Need for transparency, Confusion of allocation of money, Colleges defining individual plans. Action: Ray will speak with the Chancellor and request clarification then share with Board.

8. New Business

8.1 Early Assessment Program: Jennifer Hughes recapped EA placement testing. Points of discussion: customization of test questions, are exams parallel, approximately 25 colleges already adopted EAP, strong

encouragement by deans.

Recommendation for EAP district committee to consist of faculty from each college Math (3), English (3), Dean (1), DAS, DCC (1) and Matriculation Chair (1)

Approved EAP committee: Motion by Bennett and seconded by Clay

8.2 Faculty Hiring Procedures: Martin brought up concerns regarding our hiring policy. Points of discussion: language to be re-vised, hiring committees faculty purview not administration. Discussion to continue.

8.3 District Curriculum Committee (bylaws change): Reviewed draft proposal along with individual colleges curriculum.

"District Curriculum Committee

The District Curriculum Committee is a standing committee of the District Academic Senate that supports the goals and objectives of the San Mateo Community College District and its three college curriculum committees. It provides a forum for discussion and makes recommendations to the District Academic Senate on curriculum matters which have district wide impact. The composition of the committee is as follows:

1. The three local college faculty chairs of the college curriculum committees

2. Vice Chancellor of Education (1)

3. Vice President of Instruction (1)

The Committee is chaired by one of the local college curriculum committee faculty chairs. Voting members shall consist of the three local chairs of the curriculum committees. Ex officios will consist of Vice Chancellor of Education and Vice President of Instruction. Formal recommendations will be presented to the District Academic Senate Governing Council for consideration."

DCC Chair Christine commented this amendment would provide clearer direction. Patty Dilko will review and DAS by-laws for other revisions. Process: DAS approves and amendments will be included in Spring 2011 Elections.

8.4 Review of District Budget: deferred to December meeting

8.5 Study Abroad Program: Points of discussion: recommendations to help build a successful SA program, Process and Criteria not defined, make up of faculty selection committee, SA abroad coordinator support, Faculty concerns (no orientation, deadline to short) Consortiums concerns, No feed back from selection committee to those not accepted, faculty and student outreach. Patty Dilko will review, research and bring recommendation back in Spring 2011.

9. District Curriculum Committee Report: CurricUnet to be live January 18, 2011. Key elements of course outlines defined by the DCC.

10. Matters of Council Interest: Central duplicating services

11. Adjourn: 4:24pm